View Details

Thinking of Running for Office?


Posted in the Announcements page 6 months ago on Friday, April 13, 2018.

Oxford’s municipalities are once again partnering on a candidate information session for new and returning candidates. New rules and requirements for Third Party Advertisers will also be covered.

Thinking about running in the upcoming municipal or schoolboard election? Wondering what is involved? Not sure who to ask?

Oxford County’s eight area municipalities are hosting a candidate and third party advertiser information session on April 26 to explain the basics of the Municipal Elections Act, 1996, including who is eligible, the nomination process, campaign finance rules, new rules regarding third party advertisers and more. The session will benefit new and returning candidates as well as third party advertisers.

The information session takes place:

Thursday, April 26, 2018 - 6:00 p.m.
Oxford County Administration Building – Council Chambers
21 Reeve Street, Woodstock, ON

The sessions will include a presentation by the Ontario Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing. Each of Oxford’s municipalities will be on hand to take part in break-out sessions following the presentation to provide more specific information for candidates and third party advertisers.

Oxford County’s municipalities include The Township of Norwich, The Township of Zorra, Township of South-West Oxford, Township of East Zorra-Tavistock, Township of Blandford-Blenheim, Town of Ingersoll, Town of Tillsonburg and the City of Woodstock.

QUOTES

“Oxford’s municipalities are once again working together to support citizens who want to serve their communities through political office. We’ve designed a session that offers information, guidance and advice to potential candidates as well information regarding new rules for third party advertisers.”
- Amy Humphries, City Clerk, City of Woodstock

For further information, contact your local Municipal Clerk:

Town of Ingersoll
Michael Graves
Clerk                                      
Phone: 519-485-0120
mgraves@ingersoll.ca

Township of East Zorra-Tavistock
Will Jaques
Clerk
Phone:  519.462.2697 ext. 225
wjaques@ezt.ca

Township of Zorra
Karen Martin
Clerk
Phone: 519-485-2490 ext. 228
kmartin@zorra.on.ca

Township of South-West Oxford
Julie Forth
Clerk
Phone: 519-877-2702
clerk@swox.org

Town of Tillsonburg
Donna Wilson 
Town Clerk 
Phone: 519-688-3009 ext. 3224 
Fax: 519-842-9431 
dewilson@tilsonburg.ca 

City of Woodstock
Amelia Humphries
City Clerk
Phone: 519-539-2382 ext. 2500
ahumphries@cityofwoodstock.ca

Township of Norwich
Kimberley Armstrong
Deputy Clerk
Tel: 519-863-2709
karmstrong@norwich.ca

Township of Blandford-Blenheim
Sarah Matheson
Deputy Clerk
Phone: 519-463-5347
smatheson@blandfordblenheim.ca
.

 |